I have been working on handmade clothing lately along with lots (and lots) of help from my lovely mum.

My mum is a very good seamstress and although I am okay with a sewing machine, she is super quick and a perfectionist. So I am going to hold my hands up and confess mum carries out most the making of the clothing and I ‘decorate’ them 😉

Our first piece was this very cute ‘Rainbow Pinafore Dress’.

20140513-172652.jpg
Although the pinafores are very cute they are very fiddly and I really did want to learn the ropes so my mum suggested a lovely elasticated waisted skirt. We used the same denim look cotton as the pinafore and a lovely hand crochet toadstool and butterfly appliqués. I think the bright colours of the bamboo cotton crochet works great with the blue of the cotton material.

20140513-173051.jpg
After these makes a started to get excited about making clothes and popped down to my local market to purchase some material. Unfortunately due to my lack of experience I purchased some lovely cream cotton material with a pretty teal pattern but I didn’t purchase enough to make a piece of clothing with. Half a metre looked ample but it wasn’t and I was gutted. It was so pretty but my mum suggested we could use it for pockets on the skirt and I suggested the waistband too. This is the finished piece with a little crochet ‘peek-a-boo’ mouse thrown in for good measure.

20140513-173548.jpg

20140513-173559.jpg
Cute!!!

Don’t forget to visit my Facebook page for more products.